Mon: A place for photography.

London Bricks.

2 Comments

0109 0151 0165 0498 0500 0504 0506 0577

Something I noticed almost as soon as I landed in London was the bricks. What a weird thing to notice! But I really think they are worth mentioning. From my memory there were red, white-ish, yellow and brown bricks. The red ones, I concluded, are used in elegant buildings and are carved. I’d never seen carved red bricks to create and ornate front. The brown and yellow bricks, I saw, were used in big buildings and in some cases the entrances contrasted by being made of limestone or white plaster to create a classical entrance. I really wish I could study the composition of these types of bricks. Here in Mexico we have red bricks, but their pores are wide and I don’t think they could be carved without breaking. I imagine it’s got to do with the soil.

Mon

2 thoughts on “London Bricks.

  1. I also love seeing brick buildings. Moisture and earthquakes don’t let us use them as much in Costa Rica I guess. Nice photos!

Leave a comment

